Big Society Meets the Great Outdoors: Opportunity for All


As I’ve previously stated, this blog is not about politics. However, I spotted this on Cheryl King’s blog and it struck a chord. For me, the outdoors are a perfect escape to help me get my head straight. But I am lucky. I had parents who took me walking when I was young and today I have the means to afford access and equipment and the confidence to take off into my own uncharted worlds. Yet I know too well over the years the number of people, especially children, for whom this is far from the case. Outdoor Education Centres are vital in offering that glimpse. Selling them off, making them “profit-making” enterprises and, worst still, closing them removes that glimmer of hope and chance to change someone’s life. I don’t know what I would do without my escape or knowing the world around me and I want others without my means to have those opportunities too. For that reason I’d urge you to have a read and then sign the petition.

Leave a Reply

