Cycling and depression: finding a balance


This afternoon I read Cyclismespandelles’ blog on cycling and depression. I think the blog speaks eloquently for itself and I’d encourage you all to read it – cyclists because our love can be a dangerous obsession, non-cyclists because…well, because you read my blog so must have some interest in this (and it still could happen to you!). I’ve also commented on the blog itself so you can read my additional thoughts there. And if you found it helpful please pass it on to others.

Ex-professional cyclist Tyler Hamilton (in the news again recently, which you will know unless you were asleep for 60 minutes) claimed in 2009 that his second positive test for doping (DHEA) was the result of his taking a herbal remedy to counter longstanding depression (Bonnie Ford of ESPN as usual does an excellent job of summarising here). Hamilton is not the only professional cyclist to have suffered from depression during or after their care … Read More

via cyclismespandelles

One thought on “Cycling and depression: finding a balance

  1. Really interesting article, Rob – I must admit I identified with quite a bit of it. I really liked his description of colds and minor physical ailments as ‘physical insults’ – they are things that always make me more vulnerable and it is usually only once the cold has come out that I realise why I am feeling so down. I also very much related to how exercise can hinder as well as help my mental state. I don’t cycle but walk in the fells, hills and mountains of the Yorkshire Dales and Lake District National Parks, and on the now rare occasion that I get to go out, I walk a very fine tightrope of mental well-being and distress before I even step foot on the hill. Getting my pack ready to get out there, making sure I have everything I need to be safe and comfortable on the hill is a huge mental struggle, and if I can’t find something or something is not quite right, I will invariably find myself upset and not wanting to go even though I know how much I will enjoy it when I get out. It’s daft, I know, but it’s the way it is and I just have to try to work with it.
    The conclusion of the article is certainly true, and I think it applies not just to exercise. Everything, from exercise to my extra-curricular studies, is a balance between doing too little so as to be dissatisfied and too much so as to be exhausted. It’s all a spectrum or continuum. The more experience of this wonderful thing we call life I have, the more I realise that nothing is black and white and everything seems to be ruled by spectrums that we must balance with our own personal cirumstances and mental states!

Leave a Reply

