Overweight and Out of Date


No, I’m not 20ft high on Blackpool promenade (that gives you music buffs an extra clue) but I am beginning to feel the pull of time.  There was a time, not so long ago, where I could eat, drink and be merry without feeling the short or long-term after effects.  So it’s funny how time catches up on you and I am now on the verge of being overweight. Bits wobble that never used to and when I went for a run on Tuesday evening (more later) I had a distinct feeling that I looked like one of those industrially reared turkeys whose legs are completely out of proportion to their bodies. Okay, I make light of and exaggerate the problem to some degree but I need to do something about it.  I’m not one of those people who has been obsessed with having the perfect body, just a fit and healthy one.  Yet 10 years ago I never had this problem. 10 years ago if I felt a bit podgy just walking places or a couple of runs would shed the pounds. Not anymore and it’s going to take a bit more work to sort it this time.

So begins another reclaim.  In the next 2 months I determined to lose a stone, to regain the fitness I threw away over the winter and start to feel good again. A healthy mind does mean a healthy body and so the opposite must be true.  And so with this in mind its back to a concerted effort of exercise and, for the first time in my life, dieting – not a fad diet promoted by a celebrity chef or hollywood actor, just a readjustment of quantities and ingredients to balance things a bit more. Oh, and reducing the beer intake.  Standing where I am this all seems a bit daunting. I’ve started the exercise: a 2 mile run on Tuesday was not nice to say the least, the 34 mile ride felt more familiar territory this morning. MrsAB is taking care of the diets.  I’ll keep you all posted. Here’s to recovering some youth and vitality.

 

Leave a Reply

