Skip a beat


If you get the lyrical reference today you will realise that things have hit something of a wall. In full it goes along these lines: “skip a beat and move with my body” for those who still haven’t got it (and if that still isn’t a help then google it).

The other lyrics I could have chosen and whoch always seem to strike a bit of a cord is Eels “Novocaine for the Soul”: “Life is hard and so am I. You’d better give me something so i don’t die.” Okay so I’m not about to take drugs but there are plenty of times when I need something to get me through. That’s been the last few days for me.

In all truth I’m shattered. If we adopt Novocaine as the metaphor life got the better of me and I’ve taken on plenty of “novocaine” to get back on track.  Ironically for this metaphor cycling has become a bit of a drug, though I’m a rather amateur addict as I’ve shown in this blog, often more a passive imbiber than an active chainganger. But what with cycling, photography shoots, the allotment, a potential new co-operative enterprise and the day job, not to mention everyday life with the wonderful Mrs AB, I’ve reached a stopping point.

So in good Catholic tradition here is my confession: since Tuesday I’ve not touched my bike. I’ve done plenty of other things: On Friday Mrs AB’s folks and I demolished our old shed and I now have stiomach muscles I never knew I had (they ache); this morning we all did a hard morning’s graft on the allotment (we now have to enter what looks like a prison camp given the new secodn fence, something which is getting me down about a one time escape – indeed if they put the words Work Makes Free above the gates you can now imagine what it looks like!)  No wonder I’m wiped out and so that’s why I’ve decided to take Kylie’s advice (after stern words from Mrs AB and Mum2), listen to my body  and have a break.  Back to it this week but first to overcome the guilt of doing no training. Perhaps another whiskey will help?

One thought on “Skip a beat

  1. Don’t get hung up on the old catholic guilt! That just makes things more fun. Sounds like you enough going on anyway but maybe, just maybe a bit of cycling will energise you as much as the novocaine!

Leave a Reply

