Progress


Well that was the week that was – quite literally.  Mrs AB is away visiting some of my in-laws and I’m at home on my tod.  Its strange, whenever I get a few nights on my own I have grand plans and then end up frittering it away.  Take tonightfor instance – I’m sat with the football on in the background and reading articles on Wired about what would happen if (the scariest one so far has been what would happen of a Tsunami hit the Severn Estuary – read at your peril!) having rushed between TV and kitchen like a yo-yo to fit in tea and the highlights of the Dauphine Libere. I’m not even really interested in the football this time around.

But enough moaning, this week has been good if slightly hectic.  Last weekend I travelled down to Bristol to see one of my best friends from University. We removed a ceramic tiled kitchen floor and managed to fit in a few beers, some political reminisences and sang along to indie favourites from times gone by and possibly mis-spent. It was great and thanks to Jay for a great few days – I’m told the new floor fits perfectly.

A train journey home, an evening down the allotment, a Sunday partly frittered away and then into the week proper.  And that has flown by. Some mundanity which is par for the course, plenty of coffee but a growing sense of feeling that something is coming together. Watch this and other spaces hopefully in the not to distant future. So the recovery on that front is taking new shape and I’m liking where it is heading.

And to add to my positive mood I have managed over 80 miles this week on the bike courtesy of 3 different rides. Sunday morning I had a nice long trek through South Staffs and up to Penkridge. Yesterday I did a briefer but similar circuit – a ride spoilt only slightly by the wind and the need to don the late spring wear again.  And I’ve topped it off today with a good solid 25 miles over a rather undulating route – and that wind still hasn’t gone away.  I’m starting to feel good on the bike, both physically but importantly mentally. I’m exploring routes again and even adding on bits as I’m going along.  None of this I could have done 6 months ago.  Whilst I couldn’t have got here without the help of friends, family and a great counsellor there’s also a lot that I have had to do myself.  This week feels like one of those milestones and I’m pleased to have passed it.

Now back to my boy’s night in. To read my book or watch some trash TV? There are some lessons I’ll never learn.

Leave a Reply

