And so to begin


This is my first real attempt at blogging and its an attempt with a purpose, or if I’m honest, several purposes.  It started as an idea to share my thoughts and experiences about building up to this year’s Tour Ride in Stoke-on-Trent. For those not in the know this is a bit like the London Marathon for cyclists. It follows the route of stage 3 of this year’s Tour of Britain and is 100 miles long.  As to why I am doing it, that is a very good question.

So who am I? I’m a married thirty something who has is on the up side of a mid-life crisis.  I used to cycle when I was younger, taking it up as a sport that I though my brother Paul would not be good at, only to find out that through his own juvenile injuries he excelled at cycling, much like every other sport he took up. For a whiole variety of reasons the rest of life took over and my teenage love affair with my bike wained.  However, having moved house 3 years ago I decided to reacquaint myself with the bike – hence the tile of the blog!

But “Reclaiming the AbandonedBike” is also a metaphor for me at the moment. Seven months ago I succumbed to the pressure of modern life and had a nervous breakdown. A growing feeling of unhappiness, depression and often despair led to a prolonged absence from work and at first a rollercaoster ride downhill.  The road back, much like all great bike rides, has been full of ups and downs but at least I feel at the beginning of the beginning now.  I just want to get my life back and bit-by-bit I’m taking small steps in that direction.

So this blog is both primarily about my build up to the 100 mile challenge of the Tour Ride but is also about that road to recovery.  I hope it will make an interesting read for cyclists but also raise awareness to all about the prevalance of mental health problems today and the fact that it isn’t the end of the world if you acknowledge them yourself.

Watch out for updates as often as I have something interesting to say – and feel free to get in touch.

7 thoughts on “And so to begin

  1. Hey Rob,

    Congrats on your first post and welcome to the world of blogging. I think you’ll find it fun and liberating. I know I do. In a wierd sort of way it helps me figure out what I believe.

    As for the Tour Ride, I can’t get my head around these feats of endurance (mostly because I’m an exhausted newish dad I suspect) but I wish you well with it and look forward following how you get on.

    All the best,
    Roland

  2. Welcome to the blogosphere Rob! I hope you find it enjoyable and therapeutic, I know I certainly did in my own recovery from accident.

    Thank you also for your honesty in talking about mental health issues – it is very heartening and enlightening.

    All the best with the training! Pedal Power!

Leave a Reply

